Full Disclosure

I am definitely not a gardening expert.

Case in point: my lovely plants that I started in an actual greenhouse way back in February. I had high hopes–this year there would be early tomatoes. And tomatillos that are ripe before the frost. I’d have big, stocky plants ready to pop in the ground by May.

Well.

Not so much.

I think it was the soil I used. It had come in perfectly sized bags that were easy to carry with me. The seeds were up in a matter of weeks. Happy and green. And then they didn’t grow any more. They stayed two inches tall for weeks and I was too busy to think about it much. Then they turned yellow. And it was April. My friend’s tomatoes planted weeks after mine taunted me with their hefty, twenty inch tall stalks. I had to do something.

Of course by then all the potting supplies were gone from the stores, so I resorted to red party cups. The seedlings looked so much greener after a week in new soil, and I had visions of them shooting skyward in the next couple weeks before I could put them in the ground.

But now the greenhouse is too warm for plants and mine are still midgets. I’ll collect them tomorrow and hope for the best.

Meanwhile, why yes, I am an expert! I intentionally planned my garden to have something in bloom all the way from late winter through summer. I put lots of thought into it!

Well, OK, so it’s completely accidental.

In my perennial bed, the bearded irises are over, but some new irises took their place. I don’t know much about them–I swiped a couple rhizomes from Patchwork when I saw how beautiful they are.

My coral bells are also blooming now and the astrilbe and hydrangea will join them very soon. I should have extra color in my garden for several more weeks!

My wall of honeysuckle is at its peak. This week I was finding excuses to work a little here and there in my garden just to enjoy the scent.

I also have some Japanese honeysuckle that’s blooming on our front fence. It has pretty flowers, but every other year it seems to get infested with aphids or some such bug. It looks like this is a year for the bugs, but I could enjoy the flowers for a little bit, at least.

Meanwhile, John graduated from nursing school last weekend. Friends used the occasion to give me gifts of flowers. I got a bouquet of peonies, since it’s also peony season in Evansville.

And a black iris from Alan. They’re really beautiful. Now I’ve transferred one from his garden to mine.

John and I also had the gift of having our families in town, and I enjoyed having new people to enjoy my garden with me and to take photos of me standing in it! Yay!

2 thoughts on “Full Disclosure

  1. Oh Amy,
    I just love your new photos and information about your garden! It has inspired me to get a peony bush for next year. I have a small space of ground in Cincy house to play with, so I don’t feel intimidated and can try new plants. As always, thanks for your beautiful photos and descriptions.

Leave a Reply

