Gardens of Coshocton

I’m just back from an intense yet productive week in Coshocton, Ohio where I was doing an arts residency at the Pomerene Center for the Arts. I worked with a group of about 250 3rd and 4th graders to make fabric people a little like the ones I make myself. (For more about my art, please see my website and my art blog.)

I would have had fun making the art anywhere–even a smelly school cafeteria–but was amazed to find that my art room was this:

That’s right, outdoors among the rhododendrons and azaleas on the porch of a Greek Revival house. It was beautiful. Here’s a close up of the fancy azalea that was in the middle of my art room:

Not only that, while I was there I stayed with the Pomerene’s director. She and her husband live on a gravel township road way out in the country with only Amish families for neighbors. It was a beautiful time to be there. I loved sitting on their porch just listening to the peace and quiet.

And by peace and quiet I mean massive amounts of bird songs. This brings me to mental note #1:

  • Whenever I schedule another arts residency in early May, I need to pack my binoculars

As well as mental note #2:

  • I should make sure to schedule more residencies along migration routes during early May.

The birds taunted me. I could see little warblers flitting way up in the trees and I could hear all kinds of interesting birds singing, but I had no way to get a good look at them.

I did, however, get to go on walks with Chuck the dog.

And watch Stewart the cat lick the dew off the skylight in the morning.

There were also plenty of gardens in and around Coshocton. I saw more when I went back to visit my alma mater, Kenyon College. Kenyon’s beautiful campus was at its peak.

From all of this, I present: Irises that it would be fun to own. (Would anyone notice if I chopped off a rhizome to bring home with me?)

The last ones were at Clary Gardens, a little botanical garden in Coshocton. I stopped there and the historic Roscoe Village before heading home and was glad I did. They included many wonderful plants and settings.

2 thoughts on “Gardens of Coshocton

Leave a Reply

