Woo-Hoo! It’s seed ordering time!

A message from my 5-year-old self

I’m working my way through several seed catalogs trying to make my selections. It’s pretty hard, considering my vegetable garden is only about 25′ x 10′ at its widest and there’s a big blackberry bush taking up a considerable chunk of that space (but, hey, I’ve also got as many containers as I can fit onto the concrete–that’s practically a field, right?).

There are so many exciting things I could grow but only enough room for a few of them. However, add in some big, glossy photographs of fruits and vegetables and some descriptions like: “a rich, nutty flavor that is quite delicious,” “port wine colored beefsteak with metallic green stripes,” and “it is most delicious excellence…one of the best,” and I can just about convince myself that there is plenty of space for a couple melons, winter squash, and tons of tomatoes.

I’m exercising a little restraint: I’ve managed to take a couple things off the list (carrots) and to limit my dreams to maybe one smaller melon, one restrained squash, and only 6 tomatoes (OK, so even 6 is pushing it).

But still, it’s like the illustration above that my 4- or 5-year-old self drew way back when: Woo-hoo! I’m juggling way more fruits and vegetables than I know what to do with!

It’s exciting to put in the orders.

Meanwhile, I missed getting snow photos of my garden since John and I were in Ohio during the Christmas snows. Things had already melted plenty before we got home, but there were still some nice moments of snow and plant beauty.

sage in the snow

thyme in the snow

4 thoughts on “Woo-Hoo! It’s seed ordering time!

  1. It’s fun to see that the energy of your present posts existed even in your 4-or-5-year-old creations, Amy! Thanks!

    • I’ll be happy to share. I’m not going to plant those tiny red tomatoes again this year, Jane, so that should also help you out! And I avoided any tomato with “very large vines” in its description.

Leave a Reply

