Wildflowers

The weekend that my art show opened in Jasper, Indiana, John and I decided to take a long weekend together. Keeping it simple, we spent a couple days just enjoying the sights of Dubois County. And there were plenty of sights to see! We had a good time.

One place we visited was Ferdinand State Forest. Things were just starting to green up, the weather was nice, and spring was on the wind. The very earliest of the wildflowers were out. When I was little, my mom made flash cards using wildflowers from the woods across the road that she pressed beneath contact paper. Thanks to them and walks in the woods with my parents, I know:

Spring Beauty…

Spring Beauty

Cutleaf Toothwort (not flowering below–but so fun to say!)…

Cutleaf Toothwort

Dutchman’s Breeches…

Dutchman's Breeches

Bloodroot…

IMG_0163

And lots of other brambles, trees, and plants just starting to unfurl…

Little bramble

It was still early, though, and I was sorry that there weren’t a few more flowers to find. A week later, my dad and stepmother came to see the show and I convinced John to go for another walk with me while we were in Jasper. By then, a few more favorites had bloomed, including:

Violets…

Yellow Violets

Neat purple violet

Anemone…

Anemone

Unfurling May Apples…

 

May Apple unfurling

Trillium…

IMG_0489

IMG_0501

Ferns…

IMG_0474

IMG_0452

IMG_0455

And one of my favorites, trout lilies…

IMG_0413

IMG_0410

I also liked the sycamore seed pods suspended over the lake…

Sycamore tree over the lake

And the gentle greening of the trees.

greening

One thought on “Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

