What Lies Beneath

After endless gray-brownness, I can’t believe the transformation that’s taken place in my garden in the last three weeks. A few warm days, and suddenly there were little bits of plant poking up everywhere. I marveled. There was hope! The next day the plants progressed another four inches and then another.

varigated fragrant solomon's seal

A moment later, the little starts had turned into actual plants.

little hosta

Things started to fill out even more, and suddenly my garden had returned.

garden view April 2013

There is one section by the tree that I particularly like right now. It’s full of hostas and astribles with solomon’s seal, wild ginger, and sweet woodruff filling in between. The wild ginger is another one that I remember from childhood walks in the woods with my mom. If you knew their secret, you could find the flower.

wild ginger

I also have another favorite wildflower blooming: a wild geranium. I remember them being some of the rarer finds in the woods and such a wonderful, delicate purple.

wild geranium

Also blooming is the tiarella. I take its picture every year.

tiarella

And my first azalea blooms.

pink azalea

white azalea

Odd fact: last year the Google Streetview truck drove through Evansville during Azalea Season. It caught the city at its absolute best. It also caught the repairs being done to Patchwork’s tower.

Meanwhile, this fern is looking elegant…

fern

I love all the little hearts on the red bud tree…

red bud

And I have some odd things blooming in my garden including this euphorbia that I grabbed last year at the Master Gardener’s Plant Sale. It has looked really out of place ever since I planted it, but these blooms might redeem it a tiny bit–but not much.

euphorbia

And there is this epimedium that I picked up at an end-of-the-season sale last year so I had no idea what it was or what to expect. It’s much more delicate and small than I imagined, so it’s also a little out of place, though it’s pretty.

epimedium

And finally, a couple weekends ago I did my annual bit of birding. Where I grew up in Northwest Ohio, we were close to a major migration route and the migratory birds were usually arriving just before the leaves started to come out. In Southern Indiana, the birding is not as good, but a saw a few warblers, a pileated woodpecker, scarlet tanagers, and an indigo bunting, among others. I also discovered that pawpaw trees have wonderful flowers. I’d never noticed them before. My loss.

pawpaw

One thought on “What Lies Beneath

Leave a Reply

