Looking Back, Thinking Forward

One of the things I final photo of 2013accomplished over the Christmas break was finishing my seed orders for the upcoming year.  I spent part of a couple days flipping through the colorful, glossy, extra large photos of prime produce in my seed catalogs and reading the luscious descriptions of flavors and scents.

I resisted temptation this year: I only got a few more things than I can reasonably fit into my garden and I didn’t get any of my previous years’ duds, meaning no carrots, squash, peas, melons (well, OK, a couple melons), or spinach. This year I am going to try a couple varieties of the (super hip) blue tomatoes, so wish me luck.

Garden projects I’d love to do in the next year:

  • Create a pool of moving water for the birds
  • Turn the container garden area into a real raised bed
  • Paint the exterior of the house so I can finally create gardens where the painters will need to tread (I spent vacation time creating a way to test color ideas in Photoshop)house front good idea 1
  • Repaint the blackberry trellis
  • Relax and Enjoy my garden space!

Activity at my bird feeder has picked up. Each morning finds 7-8 goldfinches hanging on the thistle feeder in their butter-kissed but drab winter attire. There are also masses of English sparrows, doves, house finches, and cute little juncos that Shamoo loves to watch. Several days ago the woodpeckers were out. In addition to one of the usual downy woodpeckers, I was treated to seeing a red-bellied woodpecker helping himself to some sunflower seeds.

Looking back at the past year, I put together videos reviewing 2013 in my garden. They’re a series of photos I took out my back door roughly once a week. I had forgotten that the houses across the alley from us were built in early 2013. The construction activity is one point of interest.

Vegetables:

and

Perennials:

4 thoughts on “Looking Back, Thinking Forward

  1. Wonderful to watch the transformation of your gardens, Amy. I admire your green thumbs as well as your dedication. Thank you for sharing this beauty with us.

Leave a Reply

