Summer’s End

I’ve been enjoying the golden light filtering through the leaves of our maple tree.  Everything in the back yard glows as it either settles in for the winter or puts out one last burst of life before the killing frost.

The toad lilies have been blooming like crazy. I’ve got four varieties, and I always look forward to their blooms during the waning days of summer. And even as the weather cools, my garden continues to provide tasty things to eat. I planted lettuces, cilantro, arugula, and kale and they all continue to grow. I’m hoping they hold out for a little while in the colder weather. I also got my garlic in the ground, tucked in under some nice soil and ready to start my 2015 garden.

The whole thing was looking good:

Here’s a close-up of the sweet mum arrangement that the staff at work gave to John and I for boss’ day. I put it outside and the squirrels stole the mini pumpkins within a week. Boo, Squirrels!

Mums

And then there was frost…

frosty weeds

And my cat has decided to stay in his heated cat bed till it’s warm again.

Heated Cat Bed

 

 

2 thoughts on “Summer’s End

  1. A heated cat bed? I love it! My dog hates this cold weather and she could definitely use one of those 🙂

    I love your photos, but boo to squirrels indeed for stealing those cute little pumpkins.

Leave a Reply

