German Adventures

Europe on the horizon

I’m just back from a week in Germany visiting my sister and her family. The occasion: my youngest niece was being baptized and my sister and her husband asked me to be the godmother. I also got to be part of everyday life for a short time and saw a few sights around Nuremberg. It was a good visit.

my sister's village

My sister and her family live in a village near Nuremberg. Her apartment looks out on a photogenic old garage and a wonderful bakery. The day before the baptism we picked some leaves off the garage to decorate the reception room at a church in a nearby town. Then my older niece and I had to wait together for a ride.

While we waited, she found a green leaf and a red one for me to use as flags. I was supposed to wave them to direct her to go or to stop while she was riding her bike in the driveway. Soon, she started to disobey the traffic signals and told me I needed to be the police and stop her.

Then it was our turn to go to the reception room to help decorate. Along the way we stopped for some pumpkins. I am so envious at the great variety of pumpkins at the little farm near my sister’s house. They were both beautiful and looked tasty. We intentionally chose mostly edible varieties so they could become dinner when they were done being centerpieces.

After setup was over, my niece and I had to wait together again. It was a gorgeous day. I was inspired by the church’s mosaic garden ball. My niece picked a bouquet of red leaves and weeds to give to “the best Mamma.”

The next day was the baptism service at the 600-year-old church in the village where my sister and her family live. The minister was very nice and knew some English, so he incorporated a few things in English to help make it meaningful for me despite my lack of German language skills. It was a nice service and a new experience for me.

At the end of the service a candle was lit for each of the three children who had been baptized. In addition, their siblings had been invited to bring back the candles that were lit at their baptisms.

After the service, we all went to the reception for a big meal, time together, and a walk at the edge of the town. On the walk, we passed an interesting tree with odd apples on it. There was an explanation for what they were, but I didn’t quite follow it.

The next day I had some time by myself, so I took a walk in my sister’s town. It was a misty and atmospheric day. I started at the church and church cemetery, which are located at the highest point in the town. German church cemeteries are interesting because most plots include a stone monument inside a small, personalized garden. I enjoyed seeing all the different kinds of plants. From the church, I walked through the fields just outside of town.

On my last day in Germany, the kids, my sister, and I visited a botanical garden in the town of Erlangen. The kids had voted to go to the zoo instead, but my sister and I were interested to see what the gardens were like. We were afraid that the kids were going to be super bored and would pick everything in sight, but were happy to find that the kids found plenty of interesting things to look at and enjoyed the trip as much as we did.

12 thoughts on “German Adventures

  1. Amy, I enjoyed the text and the photos. It looks like a great trip! I’d enjoy seeing even more photos and text from the trip. Food? Wine? etc.

    • Thanks, Laura. Surprisingly, I don’t have any food pictures, though my sister made some good home cooked meals and my brother-in-law shared his German beer with me.

  2. Amy–Wunderbar! Amy, you need to take a crash course in German from me.

    The photography to just gorgious. The baptism service with all its rituals must have been a meaningful experience.

    See you some time when you come to Bluffton. We enjoy your newsletter.

    Linda Suter

    On Sat, Oct 22, 2016 at 1:42 PM, Squirrels and Tomatoes wrote:

    > Amy Rich posted: ” I’m just back from a week in Germany visiting my sister > and her family. The occasion: my youngest niece was being baptized and my > sister and her husband asked me to be the godmother. I also got to be part > of everyday life for a short time and saw a fe” >

  3. A great trip and wonderful images. You must have enjoyed the plants a lot too We have such a short history in this country compared to Germany. It’s wonderful to experience such a rich culture. Too bad Shamoo couldn’t go too

    On Sat, 22 Oct 2016 12:42 pm Squirrels and Tomatoes wrote:

    > Amy Rich posted: ” I’m just back from a week in Germany visiting my sister > and her family. The occasion: my youngest niece was being baptized and my > sister and her husband asked me to be the godmother. I also got to be part > of everyday life for a short time and saw a fe” >

  4. Amy,
    I enjoyed this so much! Your photos richly fed my senses and the story was fascinating! It reminded me of our visits to Europe and the beauty of their gorgeous gardens. My grandfather was German and taught us to count in his language. You must have had the greatest time with family. So much history and love!❤️

  5. Interesting that you go to Germany. My daughter and her family live near Dusseldorf, so we go to gardens in Germany and Europe often. I love Germany, and enjoy walking around her village looking at all the immaculate gardens, and especially the food gardens and allotment gardens. If only Americans utilized their space as much and as well!

    • It is interesting to see the differences. Every time I go back I get to see more interesting gardens. So far I’ve only seen the allotment gardens from the train.

Leave a Reply

