January Update

There’s not too much to report from my garden. We’re in the dead, brown season but with no snow, ice, or the usual early crocuses to add just a little variety and sparkle. However, I decided that an entire month should not go by without a garden update.

hydrangea

crocuses were blooming this time last year

the early crocuses are behind time

Moon Flower Pod

I finally put in my seed orders this weekend. It felt like even more of an act of faith this year, both on a personal level because I have no idea where I’ll find the greenhouse space that I need to get them started and on a much larger level as I watch news of policy changes that I fear will cause harm to our public lands, our environment, and all the people and creatures that live in this beautiful land. As it is, I breathe some of the most polluted air in the entire country.

bonus orchid

One hopeful point of color is in my kitchen where my orchids are blooming with abandon. I started with one orchid about 16 years ago. That orchid is now three separate plants with 11 bloom spikes among them. I also have another bonus variety of orchid in bloom, too. I’ve never had so many blooms all at once before.

In case you don’t believe me, here is a diagram of them all. Numbers 6 and 7 are obscured by leaves in this photo (so maybe you still won’t believe me πŸ™‚ ), and number 12 is the one that’s unrelated to the rest.

orchid bloom diagram

two orchids

6 thoughts on “January Update

  1. Thanks Amy. Your Orchids are amazing; just what you need on a cold grey day. I too am sad and shocked by what is going on in our beautiful country. You added a bright spot to my morning.😍 Sorry I won’t make the meeting. I am just not up to it.

    On Sun, 29 Jan 2017 9:26 pm Squirrels and Tomatoes wrote:

    > Amy Rich posted: “There’s not too much to report from my garden. We’re in > the dead, brown season but with no snow, ice, or the usual early crocuses > to add just a little variety and sparkle. However, I decided that an entire > month should not go by without a garden update. ” >

  2. Evansville…Indiana? I live near Muncie now, but I used to live near Spencer. I’ve given speeches at Angel Mounds. Your gardens are beautiful. It is much more brown here, no green shoots of bulbs at all yet. I read Dave at “Our Happy Acres” blog. Do you know him? I love flowers, but my passion right now is food gardening, after 40 years of owning an herb farm, I’m evolving! Keep writing and gardening!

Leave a Reply

