Starting Fresh

There are finally some brilliant blooms in my yard. The earliest of the crocuses have been up for about a week now. Today was a particularly warm and sunny day, so they were glowing in the sun. I guess it’s time to start thinking about spring!

My orchids are in full bloom now, and the final blossoms managed to open just before the first ones expired. All 12 bloom stalks blooming. It’s an amazing feat.

all in bloom

variety 2

Meanwhile, John and I got new cats. It’s sooner than we had imagined, but the world seems so big and there feel like there are so many concerns and threats out there both for the marginalized people we serve and for ourselves. Both of us missed having a cat to come home to–a fuzzy head to pat and soft rubs against our legs.

We wanted two cats who were already friends and who would be happy to find a new home together. We went to the Humane Society and found a mother and daughter who clearly wanted to stay together. Every time we saw them they were smashed up against each other. They’d been adopted once before but were returned because of their adopters’ “unrealistic expectations” (the Humane Society staff’s sarcastic commentary on the cats’ paperwork). They are shy cats, and their previous adopters were upset that they didn’t come out to socialize right away. We’ve had them for three weeks now, and they’re slowly acclimating to our house, though they’re still skittish.

It was not necessarily our intention, but these two cats are very different from Shamoo. They’re fluffy girls who don’t have Shamoo’s air of being impeccably dressed while drinking a martini in the library, reading a deeply intellectual novel, and looking at you with disdain.

However, they have seemed like Ladies from the beginning, so we chose names for them from the Legends of King Arthur: Lady Ygraine (Arthur’s mother) for the grey and white mother cat and Lady Morgaine (Ygraine’s daughter and Arthur’s half-sister) for the calico daughter cat. They are beautiful cats and seem ready for a romp and an adventure in the great out-of-doors and maybe some magic, drinking mead, organizing medieval power plays, or roasting some dead thing on a spit in the fire (they will be doing none of this–well maybe the magic…and the power plays (they did manage to get themselves an extra serving of canned cat food yesterday morning, after all)).

They’re three and four, so there’s definitely the potential for them to be energetic and destructive. John and I hope we’re ready for cats who can jump more than two feet off the ground, though it is nice not to have to provide at-home veterinary care on a regular basis.

The joy of new cats is tempered with some continued sadness for Shamoo. As good as it is to have them around, I still miss him and his ways.

And speaking of cats in a roundabout way: the hawks have been haunting my bird feeders again. I’ve seen at least two of them on three or four occasions in the last month. It has really cut down on the bird activity at my feeders, which Lady Ygraine and I are both sad about.

A couple weeks ago, I was taking photos of the hawk and I went upstairs to get a better angle. It was then that I realized what, perhaps, the hawk was looking at:

the hawk and the pussycat

There was one of the neighborhood tomcats taking a happy bath in the sun. Dude, look up, LOOK UP! Later the hawk was gone, but the cat was still there, and I was relieved.

5 thoughts on “Starting Fresh

  1. I’m delighted to read about and see photos of the two Ladies. They’re beautiful cats. Glad you included a photo of Shamoo. I’m interested in following the adventures of the new cats, but I, too, miss Shamoo. (I identified more with the elderly Shamoo.) I’ll keep him in my memory as I watch the Ladies.

  2. I love as always Great cats

    On Sat, 18 Feb 2017 11:35 am Squirrels and Tomatoes wrote:

    > Amy Rich posted: “There are finally some brilliant blooms in my yard. The > earliest of the crocuses have been up for about a week now. Today was a > particularly warm and sunny day, so they were glowing in the sun. I guess > it’s time to start thinking about spring! My o” >

Leave a Reply

