Just Look at this Goofball…

Just look at this goofball and try to ignore him…I bet you can’t.

He showed up in our back yard about a month ago. It didn’t seem like anyone was feeding him, so for a few days I shared some of the Ladies’ food on little squares of aluminum foil–I wasn’t going to make too strong of a commitment. But the squares of foil became Shamoo’s discarded travel cup, and I found reasons to spend evenings sitting on the side porch so he’d have company. And then he got some of the Ladies’ flea treatment, too.

He quickly became my little gardening buddy, following me everywhere, observing everything, and convincing the bunnies to invade other gardens (added bonus: I can say, “No, no, I wasn’t talking to myself, I was talking to the cat!”). He also enjoyed “helping” me with my garden art projects.

I’m just not so sure about the company he keeps. 🙂

He loves laps and cuddles, he’ll give you kisses if you let him, and he always purrs. He’s also got a massive amount of energy and he’ll zap your arm or leg good if he gets overstimulated, which happens regularly. He’s a goofball and he’s definitely trouble. He also seems starved for a family to love him and for him to love. Every night for weeks, I’ve had to remove the soundly sleeping cat from my lap so I could go inside to bed, and then he’d sit on the doorstep and stare sadly at the door.

So John and I talked. What do you do. Neither of us wanted three cats. And the Ladies are an absolutely, positively perfect duo. But if we don’t look out for him, who will?

So he got checked out at the vet. No microchip. No infectious cat diseases.

What do you do.

We rearranged the house and made a space for him and a space for the Ladies. Two litter boxes. Two feeding areas. Another set of toys. And two giant cat trees. Today is his first day inside. We’ll see how it goes.

With the Ladies, we visited the Humane Society three times. We met different cats. We thought long and hard about which ones were the right cats for us: two cats would be perfect. Friends who wanted to stay together. Not too young. Not too old. We chose carefully and thoughtfully and shared some heartache over the ones we didn’t choose. It was emotional when we brought them home and let them out of their carrier. We hoped they would grow to trust us and to consider us their people.

And now here’s Larry (that’s what we’re calling him for now). He carefully and thoughtfully chose us.

There is one major obstacle, however, and her name is Ygraine.

She. Is. Not. Amused.

4 thoughts on “Just Look at this Goofball…

  1. What a marvelous looking cat! Larry is very wise in choosing you and John! I looked at these photos in late afternoon and now again. I’ll be eager to hear the report on the first inside day.

  2. He’s a purrfect mess, Amy. I am so happy you guys relented to what Larry already knew and made him a permanent part of the family. You won’t regret it of that I am sure. Just be glad he didn’t bring a friend back with him on day two a few weeks ago.

  3. I am thrilled that Larry is now part of your family. I thought from the beginning he would make a wonderful addition to the crew.

    • Hopefully we can get him integrated and he’s a good partner for the Ladies. He’s such a sweet guy, but SUCH a teenager. His favorite game is barreling straight into a couple cardboard boxes at top speed. I’d hoped to avoid that when we adopted the Ladies.

Leave a Reply

